Altri Filtri
The Art of Praxiteles IV

The Art of Praxiteles IV

The Late Phase of his Activity.

  • Collana: Studia Archaeologica, 190
  • Formato: 17 x 24 cm
  • Rilegatura: Rilegato con sovraccoperta
  • Pagine: 23, 64 Ill. B/N
  • Anno edizione: 2013
Condividi su:

The book is focused on the late production of the 4th c. BC Athenian sculptor Praxiteles and in particular on his oeuvre from around 355 to around 340 BC.
The most important works of this master considered in this essay are his sculptures for the Mausoleum of Halicarnassus, the Apollo Sauroctonus, the Eros of Parium, the Artemis Brauronia, Peitho and Paregoros, his Aphrodite from Corinth, the group of Apollo and Poseidon, the Apollinean triad of Mantinea, the Dionysus of Elis, the Hermes of Olympia and the Aphrodite Pseliumene.
Complete lists of ancient copies and variations derived from the masterpieces studied here are also provided.
The creation by the artist of an art of pleasure and his visual definition of a remote and mythical Arcadia of beautiful and gentle tales are discovered and followed through their development.

Antonio Corso attended his curriculum of studies in classics and archaeology in Padua, Athens, Frankfurt and London. He published more than 100 scientific essays (articles and books) in well refereed periodicals and series of books. The most important areas covered by his studies are the ancient art criticism and the knowledge of classical Greek artists. In particular he collected in three books all the written testimonia ~on Praxiteles and in other three books he reconstructed the career of this sculptor from around 375 to around 355 BC. He also delivered many lectures and papers in conferences in several academic institutions of Europe. He was awarded the honours of senior research fellow by the British Academy, the Kings College of London, the Institute for Advanced Study of Budapest, the Onassis Foundation of Athens, etc. From 2011 he collaborates with the Centre of Vitruvian Studies.

Summary: The Seventh Chapter: from 355 to 350 BC; The Eighth Chapter: from 350 to 345 BC; The Nineth Chapter: from 345 to 340; The Tenth Chapter: the last years.

Forse ti potrebbe interessare anche

Iscriviti alla Newsletter

Per essere informato regolarmente sulle nostre novità.